Best Films of the Decade: Pixar

February 16, 2010 at 3:03 am (Uncategorized)

So those of you who know my taste have probably noticed a rather glaring omission in my list so far. I love Pixar, and the original draft of my list included 4 of their films (Monsters Inc, Wall-E, Ratatouille, and Finding Nemo). I could have easily included The Incredibles and Up, as well. But I decided that was a bit much, especially because I love them for most the same reasons: their innovative storylines, beautifully written dialogue that is both hilarious and touching, memorable characters, great voice work, and stunning animation, from expressive character designs to realistic and lovely backgrounds. Of course, they each have their own individual merits. I love the creative way Ratatouille exposes the world of haute cuisine. I’m always amazed by Wall-E‘s purely visual storytelling throughout most of its runtime, conveying so many emotions without words. Monsters Inc. and Up have two of the sweetest surrogate-parent relationships I’ve seen in film, not to mention the endless creativity of their adventures. Dory from Finding Nemo is an absolutely brilliant creation, and the traditional quest narrative is given a whole new life set in the Australian ocean. The superhero mythology is reimagined in The Incredibles with a sharp insight that rivals Watchmen. Here’s to all these incredible films and a studio that has just kept giving us gems this decade.

Leave a Reply

